A Tribute to the Children of Rwanda


In particular I would like to mention the children of Rwanda as I found them to be happy, mostly unaffected (amazing after what many of their parents have lived through)  and friendly. Language was sometimes a problem for me as most of them don’t speak either English or French and I don’t speak Kinya-rwanda. I would have loved to have  been able to interact with them more. The ones that do speak English – even the teenagers- were really keen to chat and learn. I was amazed at the influence of American pop- culture here. Teenage boys especially- so many that I met seemed to love and know rap and couldn’t wait to get to America.

My remaining thoughts on Rwanda if I could sum it up in key words would be:

Lush, green ,hilly ,temperate ,friendly  ,hopeful ,kind ,clean ,happy kids.

Leave a Reply

